Sony details new PlayStation trophy changes

By Sean Carey,
Sony has announced that the trophy system will be getting an overhaul. As of tonight in North America and tomorrow in Europe, new trophy levels will be introduced alongside a new level calculation structure and some fresh trophy level icons.

PlayStation trophy changes

Announced in a PlayStation Blog post, Sony says that trophy levels will be changing. Currently, the trophy level range is from 1 to 100, but this will soon be increased from 1 to 999. Your current trophy level will be recalculated to a new level within this range based on the trophies you've already obtained. "If your current Trophy level is 12, your new level will jump to somewhere in the low 200s. The exact level will depend on the number and grades of trophies you’ve acquired. There will be no changes to the Trophies already earned or Trophy information, such as unlock requirements," Sony says.

Sony says the new way in which trophies are calculated should feel more rewarding for players to progress through levels, with platinum trophies counting more towards level progression making them even more valuable.

New trophy level icons will also be introduced. Currently, a single gold star is used to display your trophy level, but there will soon be a few variants depending on which rank you're at.

Sony says that these changes will be automatically implemented tonight in North America and tomorrow in Europe.

This is the first we've heard about these changes, so please bear with us over the next few days while we make updates to the website.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey, I’m Sean! I joined both TrueAchievements and TrueTrophies as a staff writer in 2019. I’m a big fan of the Metal Gear Solid series and love a good narrative adventure. Most evenings you’ll find me failing to get a win in Call of Duty: Warzone.
Hide ads
View discussion...
Hide ads