Sony's next State of Play will take place later this week — no major PS5 updates

By Sean Carey,
Sony has announced that its next State of Play live stream will take place later this week on Thursday, August 6th. However, don't expect any major PlayStation 5 news. Sony has said the event is mainly focusing on "upcoming PS4 and PSVR titles", with a few PS5 game updates "on third-party and indie titles" from June's PS5 showcase.

State of Play August 2020

The show will run for about 40 minutes and will feature gameplay footage and updates on games coming soon. While there will be some minor news on some third-party PS5 games, Sony has stressed to fans that there will be no PlayStation Studios updates or any "updates around hardware, business, preorders, or dates".

The next State of Play is scheduled for Thursday, August 6th and kicks off at 1 PM PT / 4 PM ET / 9 PM BST. You can watch via Twitch or YouTube.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey everyone! I'm Sean. I have been writing gaming content for various outlets over the past few years while studying a degree in Journalism. I grew up on everything PlayStation — mainly Metal Gear Solid, with a brief foray into the world of Xbox. Nowadays, you'll find me mainly playing multiplayer PC games such as Mordhau, but with the recent addition of the Xbox Games Pass for PC, I'm looking forward to improving my TA Score and completion percentage!