Update: Cuphead has been confirmed for PlayStation 4 - available today

By Sean Carey,
Update: Studio MDHR has confirmed that Cuphead is coming to PlayStation 4. The game will be available to purchase and play today. The developer also dropped a new trailer to mark the announcement.



Original Story: A product listing for the popular platformer Cuphead has appeared on the PlayStation Store. Developer StudioMDHR's game has been spotted on various international PSN stores.


Twitter user Wario64 noticed the listing under the "New Games" tag on the store. The listing doesn't actually load a separate product page if select it, so it looks like someone has made a mistake and perhaps set the tile live before they should have. Sony has since pulled the game from the store.

It's rumoured that Cuphead on PS4 could be on the agenda for today's Summer Game Fest stream. Geoff Keighley is hosting "a special update" from a "favourite indie game studio". The stream will kick off at 8 AM PT /11 AM ET/ 4 PM BST.

Cuphead originally launched for the Xbox One and PC in 2017, before coming to the Nintendo Switch a couple of years later in 2019. The game is known for its 1930s art style and its hard difficulty. The folks over on TrueAchievements hold the game in high-regard with Cuphead sitting with a 4.53/5 community rating.
Sean Carey
Written by Sean Carey
Hey everyone! I'm Sean. I have been writing gaming content for various outlets over the past few years while studying a degree in Journalism. I grew up on everything PlayStation — mainly Metal Gear Solid, with a brief foray into the world of Xbox. Nowadays, you'll find me mainly playing multiplayer PC games such as Mordhau, but with the recent addition of the Xbox Games Pass for PC, I'm looking forward to improving my TA Score and completion percentage!