PlayStation's next State of Play will focus on Ghost of Tsushima gameplay

By Heidi Nicholas,
The announcement of a new release date put the launch of Ghost of Tsushima back by three weeks, to the 17th of July. However, PlayStation has announced something sure to keep Ghost of Tsushima fans entertained in the meantime: the next episode of State of Play will give an "extended look" at gameplay, with around 18 minutes of exploration, combat, and more. This special State of Play episode will take place on Twitch and YouTube this Thursday, May 14th, at 1pm PT / 4pm ET / 9pm BST.

Ghost of Tsushima State of Play

The announcement doesn't give too much away on what else we'll see, although Sid Shuman, senior director for SIE content communications, emphasises that there won't be any PS5 news or updates: the episode will focus entirely on Ghost of Tsushima.

Ghost of Tsushima is Sucker Punch's upcoming action-adventure game set in feudal Japan, about samurai Jin Sakai and his efforts to repel the Mongol invasion. It's been a while since we've had new footage for the game — which looks to be visually stunning — so almost 20 minutes of gameplay will be well worth watching. We'll be sure to bring you everything we learn from Thursday's State of Play, and, if you'd like to read more about the game in the meantime, you can check out everything we know in our Ghost of Tsushima roundup.
Heidi Nicholas
Written by Heidi Nicholas
Hey, I'm Heidi! I've just finished studying a Masters in English Literature, but I've been obsessed with gaming since long before then. I began on the PS2 with Spyro, before graduating to the Xbox 360 and disappearing into Skyrim. I'm now a loyal RPG fan, but I still like to explore other genres — when I'm not playing Assassin's Creed Odyssey, or being lured back into Red Dead Redemption 2 or The Witcher 3!