The demo for Resident Evil 3 starts this week, followed by an open beta for Resistance

By Heidi Nicholas,
Capcom has revealed the official dates for the Resident Evil 3 Remake demo, as well as for an open beta for Resident Evil Resistance — their new multiplayer title. The demo will start this Thursday, March 19th, at 13:00 ET/ 17:00 GMT/ 18:00 CET for PS4 players. The open beta for Resident Evil Resistance will start the following week, on March 27th at 03:00 ET/ 07:00 GMT/ 08:00 CET.


Capcom isn't going into too much detail on the content of the demo, but say it'll feature Jill's efforts to evacuate Raccoon City with Carlos and the Umbrella Biohazard Countermeasure Service, as well as her own attempts to escape both the city and Nemesis. "Featuring a slice of the full game... you’ll step into the shoes of Jill Valentine as she attempts to make a desperate escape from Raccoon City as it rapidly descends into chaos", Capcom says in their blog. There's also an exclusive cinematic trailer involved, which players will be able to view on completion of the demo.

The open beta follows the week after and will run for a full week itself, ending on the game's launch date of April 3rd. Players will be able to try out being one of the six Survivors, or else have a go as Daniel Fabron, one of the Masterminds.

Although Capcom doesn't say whether or not progress from the demo will carry over into the full game, their comments warning players to be careful with ammo imply that it could. They mention the game has more of an action focus than Resident Evil 2, but that "you won’t want to go in guns blazing – it may be a demo, but you’ll need to conserve your ammo and items if you want to stand a chance of surviving".

The Resident Evil 3 remake, with Resident Evil Resistance included, launches on April 3rd.
Heidi Nicholas
Written by Heidi Nicholas
Hey, I'm Heidi! I've just finished studying a Masters in English Literature, but I've been obsessed with gaming since long before then. I began on the PS2 with Spyro, before graduating to the Xbox 360 and disappearing into Skyrim. I'm now a loyal RPG fan, but I still like to explore other genres — when I'm not playing Assassin's Creed Odyssey, or being lured back into Red Dead Redemption 2 or The Witcher 3!