Playstation Vita Forum

Forum for Playstation Vita related things. No troubleshooting or specific game discussion threads here, though. There are forums for those.

"Cannot connect to the server" - Error Code: NW-2513-1

AuthorMessage
SaiyajinLuke
Posted on 13 December 16 at 13:31, Edited on 13 December 16 at 13:32 by SaiyajinLuke
Hey everyone.

I bought myself a Vita yesterday and so far so good, no real issues other than this, I've been getting this message and error code whenever I try to do anything that requires the internet:

"Could not connect to the server.
A DNS error has occured.
(NW-2513-1)"

I've tried to fix this myself but all options have failed, this includes the "Disconnect WiFi connection automatically" option in network settings, some advice would be appreciated.
Prem-aka-Prince
Posted on 13 December 16 at 14:08
Hey there,
I'm no expert, but based on what I've seen it sounds like a problem with your router/internet connection, or more specifically your vita's connection to it. If you've already tried restarting your vita and restarting your router, the next easiest thing to try would be disconnecting everything else and trying again.

If that doesn't work try your vita's network connection settings with manual numbers rather than automatic, key figures being the (local) IP address and DNS which you can put in yourself - there are many huge free public ones such as google's.

You shouldn't really need to do this though which is why my first suggestion was to try and help the router and the vita sort it out between themselves. But if either works then at least you know it's not a damaged system.
p.s. since it's new, try and get a system update if you get online. Otherwise you can use the PS store as a quick and easy way to check you're online.
I'm sure I had a signature before...
SaiyajinLuke
Posted on 13 December 16 at 14:12
Thanks for the info!